The Alcatraz Cruises Ferry is the only way to get to the island. It is a private company under contract to the National Park Service. The Hornblower hybrid ferry is a catamaran that operates on solar, wind and diesel power.
When planning your trip, keep in mind that the ferry service can sell out weeks in advance.
1850 – President Millard Fillmore declares Alcatraz a military reservation. Permanent troops begin occupancy in 1859.
1861 – Alcatraz is designated a military prison.
1933 – The army leaves Alcatraz, transferring prisoners to both Fort Leavenworth and Fort Jay, except for thirty-two who were transferred to the federal Bureau of Prisons.
1934 – 1963 – Alcatraz is operated as a prison for kidnappers, racketeers and those guilty of predatory crimes. Robert Kennedy orders the prison closed to to deteriorating structures and the high cost of housing inmates.
1969 – 1971 – the now abandoned Alcatraz Island is occupied by eighty-nine Native Americans, calling themselves Indians of All Tribes. This occupation was forcefully ended by government officials.
1972 – Alcatraz becomes a national recreation area.
1986 – Alcatraz Island is designated a National Historic Landmark.
Alcatraz Island current falls under the jurisdiction of the National Parks Service. There is no charge for admission. Food service is not available.
San Francisco has done a wonderful job preserving heritage signs.
Many of the hotels shown below no longer take bookings, or are even hotels. At least one is an active hostel, and many now fall under the jurisdiction of the San Francisco Homeless Resource.
The Columbia Hotel now operates as the Orange Village Hostel. Short term and long term stays are available.
The Ambassador Hotel was built in 1911, on the location of the Tivoli Opera House which was destroyed in the 1908 earthquake and fire. It was used as an informal aids hospice during the 1980’s and was renovated in 2003. It is on the National Registry of Historic Places, and is currently part of the San Francisco Homeless Resource.
The Hotel Potter, on Mission Street, also part of the San Francisco Homeless Resource.
Part of the San Francisco Homeless Resource, a well maintained building with a beautiful original sign. The exterior fire escape is a nice touch.
All except one of these hotels is available to the public for booking. These are used by homeless resource agencies in the city of San Francisco. The hotels are referred to as SRO’s – single room occupancy. The signs, most of which have been restored, are called blade signs.
Much like Vancouver, Canada, the city has done a great job of preserving the heritage of their signage, both in neon form and painted. Here in Toronto, there’s not much to find in the old sign department. Sam the Record Man’s sign was to be preserved and installed by Ryerson University, but they failed to live up to their agreement.
Last I heard the sign will be installed somewhere on a building overlooking Yonge/Dundas Square downtown, across from The Eaton Centre.